Book Review: Twice In A Blue Moon by Christina Lauren

On Instagram many readers have been saying how good Twice In A Blue Moon by Christina Lauren is. When I saw the novel in the library, I took the opportunity to read the story.

Genre: Romance, Women’s Fiction

Blurb:

Sam Brandis was Tate Jones’s first: Her first love. Her first everything. Including her first heartbreak.

During a whirlwind two-week vacation abroad, Sam and Tate fell for each other in only the way that first loves do: sharing all of their hopes, dreams, and deepest secrets along the way. Sam was the first, and only, person that Tate—the long-lost daughter of one of the world’s biggest film stars—ever revealed her identity to. So when it became clear her trust was misplaced, her world shattered for good.

Fourteen years later, Tate, now an up-and-coming actress, only thinks about her first love every once in a blue moon. When she steps onto the set of her first big break, he’s the last person she expects to see. Yet here Sam is, the same charming, confident man she knew, but even more alluring than she remembered. Forced to confront the man who betrayed her, Tate must ask herself if it’s possible to do the wrong thing for the right reason… and whether “once in a lifetime” can come around twice.

With Christina Lauren’s signature “beautifully written and remarkably compelling” (Sarah J. Maas, New York Times bestselling author) prose and perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner, Twice in a Blue Moon is an unforgettable and moving novel of young love and second chances.

My thoughts:

This story had been hyped up on Instagram and I started it with a sense of anticipation. I had enjoyed another novel written by this pair of authors (The Unhoneymooners) and was expecting this one to give me the same sense of enjoyment. I was, however, disappointed.

The story did not always hold my attention and I found myself often skimming paragraphs (not a good sign!). The story line was predictable and, I found, superficial. I felt no connection at all with Tate, the main protagonist in the novel. I saw no growth in her character and felt no empathy for her.

Twice In A Blue Moon was a disappointing read for me and, as a result, I will not be picking up any other if Christina Lauren books quickly.

I give this novel ⭐️⭐️ 2 stars

© Colline Kook-Chun, 2020

(This novel was the 4th novel in my book pledge for 2020)

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Twice In A Blue Moon by Christina Lauren

Share what you think

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.